Students at schools and the university learn far more from lessons with the teachers than from other source (such as internet and television). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Students expand their knowledge base in two ways. Firstly, teachers pass down knowledge to their students through lecture sessions conducted in schools and universities and secondly, students self-study using the web. Although, I believe that teachers play a vital role, self-studying using the internet helps students learn deeper. This is mainly due to 2 reasons. Firstly, teachers have different styles of teaching and not all students would be able to absorb the information given to them in a particular form or style. Moreover, students have different learning capabilities. Some students can not concentrate for longer periods of time and hence after a certain threshold, their efficiency in learning new topics and concepts decreases. As a result, these students learn these concepts using the internet only when they have the mind space and energy to study. Hence, the majority of studying happens using the Internet. For example, a study conducted by the University of Texas published that 9 out of 10 students learn at home by themselves rather than in classrooms. Secondly, students use the internet for a deeper understanding of concepts. They mostly listen in class to get a gist of the topic and then use the internet to get a clearer and deeper understanding. This is because the internet provides students with enormous information in the form of research papers, animated videos, etc. For instance, 70% of students studying STEM agreed that they learnt more from self-studying using the internet than from a teacher. Additionally,in a few circumstances, even the teachers are not up-to-date with information, which is not the case with the internet. In conclusion, as the world is technologically advancing at a very fast pace, students have started taking advantage of the internet to learn new concepts. This is because of the vast up-to-date information that is available in different formats. However, although the traditional way of learning using teachers is still a part of our modern society, I strongly disagree that students learn more this way.