Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university to travel or work. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some students after graduating from high school tend to have a gap year before joining the university to do some jobs or explore new places.In my opinion, while this trend may bring some drawbacks, I would argue they are overshadowed by the benefits. On the one hand, it can not be denied that students are easily distracted from their attention to go to university if they have a year off. This is because when teenagers take a break from their normal academia, they may lose interest in studying, leading to difficulty reintegrating into the learning environment. Moreover, in some cases, they are so absorbed in making money that they think going to college is not important and give up on it. However, a gap year brings for students several benefits. First of all, this is a great opportunity for students to improve their shortcomings before entering university. For example, many students in high school just spend most of their time studying so they lack some soft skills such as: taking care of themselves or managing money, which are very important for an independent life in university. Therefore, by spending a year off working or travelling, young people can have a chance to practice those skills. Secondly, a gap year allows students to heighten their horizons. Visiting a new place and doing some voluntary work help students meet new people and new cultures so they will have a broader perspective on life and their future. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks related to entering university, taking a gap year still brings students more benefits, which help them expand their knowledge and improve themselves.