Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Most children nowadays have hours of screen time on their smartphones in daily basis. This fact happened due to lots of interesting features that easily accessible in the smartphone, such as child songs, Youtube for kids, and a broad range of games. Considering the impact of social skills and lacking exercise, I believe that the existence of smart devices could be a negative factor for children ’s development. Initially, socializing in real life is important to grow the social skills that can’t be found in smartphone. Children needs to socialize with their peers and elder people in various circumstances to drive their emotional stability. As an example, my five-years old cousin used to have a high screen time in her smartphone due to COVID-19 condition that required us to stay at home during the pandemic. This behaviour has a major impact on her unstable emotion compared to her older brother that socialized more in her age. Furthermore, a high screen time took away children from doing exercise that remain a vital role for their physical growth. To support this opinion, research shows that a higher screen time leads to decreasing performance on child’s brain development. For instance, we can see the growing numbers of gyms that are intended for children to fulfil the sufficient exercise in their golden age. In my country, most parents reacted positively by bringing their children to the gym as they have realized the importance of exercise for the children. In summary, children need to limit the time spend on their smartphone concerning the negative influence on the social development and physical growth aspect. By decreasing the screen time gradually, children could enjoy more time in real life socializing and doing sufficient exercise.