Aircrafts have been increasingly used to transport fruits and vegetables to some countries where plants hardly grow or are out of season. Some people consider it is a good idea but some people oppose it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is considered that aeroplanes are now being used highly for exporting food to some nations which can not be grown easily or not in their seasons. However, some people hold the opposite view. I completely agree that using aircraft is a good idea. It is obvious that using aircraft to transport some fruits is highly costly, especially the keeping part that people have to keep them fresh or it could be out of date when they are not in their weather condition. Furthermore,They rot quickly so this requires some fast medium to transport it from one country to another. For example, the average temperature in South America is not favourable for growing fruits and vegetables, so most of these products are generally imported from North America. People are totally relying on North America for various fruits and vegetables. Once these fruits and vegetables are exported, then their prices are likely to hike by 40 to 50 per cent due to air transportation charges and taxes involved between the two nations. Consequently, only a few people are able to afford such fruits and vegetables. For instance, the Kiwi fruit is cheaper in Japan as compared to the other countries because it is produced there. People can get even those vegetables and fruits which are not generally grown in their country. In fact, it provides them the likelihood to taste and eat diverse varieties of these edibles. Air transport is the quickest way as compared to the other modes of transport and as the self-life of fruits and vegetables is also less. In conclusion, importing fruits and vegetables from other countries can be beneficial as people get the chance to taste and eat different varieties of them. However, it is important to consider the increased cost involved in it.