It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults?

Nowadays there has been fierce debate about whether a period of unpaid work needs to be made compulsory for young people after they enter society, with some arguing that this should be the case. I agree with the idea and believe that the merits this decision can bring to society outweigh its potential damage to individuals. To begin with, with every young individual picking up voluntary work, those in the community who are in need can be better looked after. These days, countries across the world face a universal problem of staff shortage and insufficient funding, leaving some of the people, including senior members, unattended. This can lead to the decline of life quality for them as well as triggering a social security crisis. However, if all the young folks can take up the responsibility of taking care of those folks needing help for free, the sheer volume will suffice to provide every figure in the neighbourhood the amount of assistance they are supposed to get, and relieve the financial burden on governments at the same time. In addition to this, for young folks, this kind of voluntary job is of huge significance to them since it teaches them the value of being responsible to the neighbourhood raising them up. In contemporary society, the virtue of lending others a hand whenever they are in undesired situations seems to be lost, with an increasing number of young citizens focusing solely on making a large sum of money or gaining widespread popularity. Through participating in this sort of activity, young civilians will gradually realize the vital importance of giving back to society and using the knowledge they’ve acquired to provide others with a chance to have a happier and more prosperous life. As a result, it is likely that this period will leave a deep impression in their heart and the positive impacts on their view of value will be lifelong. In conclusion, doing the gratuitous job of offering other members of the neighbourhood help is advantageous to both society and young individuals themselves. I believe that requiring young people to do this for a certain period of time can bring more benefits than drawbacks.