In many societies, there is a growing emphasis on individualism, with people prioritizing their personal goals and desires over collective interests. Is this a positive or negative development?

In some groups of people, there is a growing term of individualism which is prioritizing individuals' objectives over collective importance. In my opinion, this is a harmful development because it makes people lack empathy and also increases the socioeconomic gap between people. Firstly, individualism can lead people to be empathyless. This is because when an entity starts to neglect the needs of a community, it reduces the sense of consideration for each other. Furthermore, this development could lead to bigger problems such as civil war. For example, in Indonesia, there are internal conflicts in the Java region due to individuals who take advantage of an unfavorable society. Thus, this emphasis makes people unable to understand others' condition and only focus on their behalf. Secondly, individualism magnifies the socioeconomic status gaps between human beings. This is because the less fortunate community mostly relies on others to go through daily needs which is not the case for the higher status person. This development can amplify the gap since there is no one who throws a helping hand for lower-status people while the higher ones are mostly self-reliant. For example, research conducted by the University of Sydney said that ever since there are individuals with high achievement in that country, the number of rich people in Indonesia is increasing each year side by side with the number of poor folk who are also rising. This is proof that self-reliant terms are widening the socio-demographic gap. In conclusion, I believe that individualism is bringing more harm because it can lead the public to have less empathy and also widen the crack between the rich and the poor.