48.Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences, while some people think there are other alternatives. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some say that longer jail time can lead to a decrease in crime cases, while others would argue that there are better ways to reduce law violations. This essay would argue that although offering a better education can reduce crime cases, criminals in jail, have a longer time to change their behaviour, so this is the best way. On the one hand, people should be taught since little about how everything works. This is because children do not know what is wrong and what is right, then, when they get older it might be difficult to change their way of thinking. When people are in middle school, teachers and families should teach them about the correct and incorrect actions and the consequences, so they will not carry out any crime. For instance, in Spain, all private schools will invite police and people and perform conferences to talk about the most common crimes and how to avoid getting on the wrong path. However, I think that this will only stop them from breaking laws when they are at a certain age, but when they get older, they might forget about it, so individuals should be punished so they can remember. On the other hand, with longer time in jail, individuals will be more aware to not commit any fault, since spending too much time in prison is not the best choice. Also, with longer prison time, the lawbreakers have more time to change their behaviour and character, in this way, the police and guards can make sure that when the delinquents get out of jail, they have changed completely so they won’t carry out any crime again. For example, in China, people that had committed a crime, are caught in jail until they have changed their habits. In my opinion, this point of view is preferable because the security of citizens is guaranteed and when the criminals get back to normal life, they won’t continue committing violent actions again. In conclusion, although education can allow people to learn about the rights and the laws that individuals should follow, it can’t stop them from performing crimes, and this is why it is more useful to make larger prison sentences and change their behaviour and conduct in jail time.