Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, people who are living with their families feel much more comfortable than others. Nevertheless, most old people are bound by their family to live in a nursing home and care home rather than their loved ones. There are pros and cons due to these circumstances. In my point of view, the decision to place the elderly into care homes is a complex situation, it should be based on the individual’s conditions and needs. Recently, a care house has become very popular because creating a tidy and neat atmosphere helps old people become friends and be able to communicate with each other. Home care provides several conditions such as a suitable environment, and social interaction. For example, they build a community that is suitable for the elderly to feel like they are at home, it is appropriate for people who have no children or relatives. Another example is that they have the opportunity to engage with their peers, reducing social isolation and loneliness. In addition, they have professional care for elderly people. In particular, qualified nurses, and workers are trained properly so they can provide round-the-clock responsibility and ensure that residents receive specialized assistance and medical attention when needed. On the other hand, living in these centres causes some challenges. A survey conducted by Western Sydney University elaborates that when elderlies are away from their homes and families, they usually face emotional problems as they feel left out and not being loved by their children. Another example is the relationship between grandpas/grandmas with grandkids so crucial not only for grandparents but also for youngsters to stay in a vibrant and lovely mood. Additionally, nursing homes can be expensive for families. Another disadvantage is that some elderly get abused by nurses and doctors. To sum up, there are many advantages and disadvantages to this matter while the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. In my opinion, I believe that it depends on family conditions and elderly people ’s decisions on well-being as well as the quality of life.