In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, businesses often use advertisements to attract more customers. They always emphasize that their products stand out from the crowd and are novel. Having a unique and new feature in the advertisement of a product is a strategy of marketing and branding to boost sales and profit. In my opinion, it is mostly a negative development and can lead to false claims. To begin with, every enterprise claims that they have the best product in the market. They create a positive impression on customers to increase their market and revenue. To illustrate, I have seen a number of advertisements about supplements for weight loss on social media. All of them proclaim that their products have the best ingredients and something new that their counterparts do not have. They said that their product is made with herbal ingredients (which is not supported by research) and claimed that you will gain weight loss by 5 kilos in one week. Clearly, this is a marketing strategy to improve sales and earnings. Even though it can raise sales and profit, in my opinion, it is regularly a negative development because the new features that the businesses advertise are nothing new in the true sense. It might be another version of the same product with a change in appearance/look, flavour or ingredients and adding an amazing claim. For instance, the same advertisement in the previous paragraph about supplements which can obtain weight loss by 5 kilos in one week makes a customer particularly those who are overweight or obese interested in that advertising. Nonetheless, once they purchase the product, they realize that the efficacy promised by the products is not as useful as those advertised. Therefore, it will dupe customers and lead to customer dissatisfaction and disappointment. Hence, we have to be careful in advertisements which have overclaimsclaims because it will lead to inappropriate claims. In conclusion, the reason why enterprises emphasize that their product is new and innovative is to improve their sales and profit. Nevertheless, it is a negative development since it can fraud customers and lead to customer dissatisfaction because of false claims.