Young people are often influenced in their behavior by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh advantages?

It is generally accepted among some folks that peer pressure in youngsters is salient whereas some believe that it has recognizable demerits. In my opinion, its’ merits outweigh the downfalls, due to a number of factors which will be illustrated in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, it is apparent that young people like to work in groups and their peers always influence them in many ways. When working in teams, each of them shares the best practices they follow and as a result, the team-mates get a chance to acquire more skills and knowledge. Moreover, the outstanding personalities in schools or colleges set plenty of good examples for others which is a good inspiration towards developing their own characters. Additionally, the encouragement and the moral support given by contemporaries are considered to be the best motivational factors for one’s success in live events. However, the association of same-aged individuals who have more inclination towards social misconduct will always carry negative sentiments towards other teenagers’ lives. Furthermore, these socially unacceptable behaviours can lead to the emergence of a ferocious group of youngsters in society. In conclusion, although the negative influence of peers can cause the younger generation to face pessimistic consequences, these advantages of peer pressure counterbalance the pitfalls.