In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy a wide variety of foods transported from all over the world. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the drawbacks?

As a result of our world becoming increasingly globalised, types of foodstuff that were once confined to specific regions for sale and consumption are now freely distributed to every corner of the globe. Despite some drawbacks to the foreign trade of food, these are overshadowed by the multitude of benefits. On the one hand, international import and export trade has made it possible for everybody to have access to a greater variety of foodstuffs than ever before. Purchasing a large assortment of external and exotic products is now as simple as visiting your local supermarket. A prime example of globalisation in action is the fast-food chain McDonald’s. With their restaurants extending to over 100 countries around the world, consumers know that the quality and taste of the Big Mac they enjoy in Australia will be identical in every way to the one they buy while on holiday in China. On the other hand, a major drawback to this aspect of globalisation is the potential for some overseas foodstuff imports to dominate the local market. Moreover, there have been numerous cases of imported products forcing local food manufacturers out of business. That is because small local businesses cannot compete with the high-quality, low-priced products sold by big overseas brand names and are left with no choice but to withdraw from the market. Although this can have a disastrous impact on the native economy, market competition would nevertheless continue to exist with or without the influence of foreign trade. In summary, there are both benefits and drawbacks to import and export of food around the world. However, the advantages outweigh the handful of problems,in my view.