Some people think that English will be the most common language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this impact?

It is believed that English is going to be the most spoken language in the world. There are both benefit and drawback regarding this issue. People all around the globe will be connected, and they will strive to improve their English language proficiency in order to obtain a better prospect. Having a language that is being spoken by a majority of global citizens will decrease cultural diversity. First of all, people with diverse cultural backgrounds from all walks of life can have a connection with each other by communicating and socializing in the same language. This strengthens their bonding and helps to maintain a close and harmoneous relationship. Boosting up the level of happiness among them and cultivating a calm and supportive vibe. Moreover, people will try their very best to practise their English speaking, listening, writing and reading skills, as English is the most common langauge that are vital for their career development. It is reported by the South China Morning Post that there were 82% of people stating their agreement for the importance of having good English in 2019, and showed a trend that the more advanced their English proficiency are, the higher the revenue they earn, from 2012-2022. This offers a chance for people to equip themselves by language advancement and can allow them to have a better understanding about themselves, knowing whether there is any space for improvement. Thus, motivating them to grind and become a high-achiever. Apart from that, it is believed that having a most commonly spoken language can reduce the cultural diversity. A large proportion of people living aross distinct countries are speaking in the same language, meaning that only a minority of people are communicating in different language. This will lower the opportunity for exploring other languages and learning about various cultures and history. The languages that are uncommon for people to speak or write may soon come to an end. However, they are important and should also be protected as all the cultures and languages are equally precious and must be conserved. All in all, it is believed that English being the most known language among people from diverse backgrounds helps to build up a better relationship with one another, and enhance the level of harmoy in the society, as well as providing more incentives for people to strive for excellence. It also causes the problem of lowering cultural diversity. It is vital for the government and citizens to develop plans and strategies for cultural conservation.