Many people sayt that we now live in ,,consumers societiesʼʼ where money and possessions are given to much importance. To what extent do you agree or diagree

In the contemporary era, there is an ongoing debate about whether money and position get the maximum priority or not. I strongly believe that consumerism results in a classification between rich and poor on the basis of possessions and power. Technology is advancing by leaps and bounds everywhere. That is why, we can see new devices and accessories with advanced features. Those who have enough money, can easily afford anything and replace their old devices with newer ones. For example, a survey by Bangladesh IT has published that 40% of people in Bangladesh, have the tendency to cope with the new trends, and among them, around 35% of individuals are belonged to high-class families. Further, in most cases, people who are from sophisticated societies, hold the top position of an organization. Consequently, in a consumer society, people who are affluent, achieve more opportunities. On the other hand, deprived people can not fulfil their expectations because of myriad barriers. For example, if a man from middle-class family, wants to start a business by taking a loan from a bank, then the bank authority will not give him the money because of lack of security to return the money. So, in this case, though he may have a proper plan instead his family background is a great resistance to him. Moreover, for ensuring a profit, a business needs some time and opportunities. But unprivileged public does not get any time, as they have to compete with other established companies to survive themselves in this competitive market. As a result, sometimes small companies decline within a short period. Overall, it is a fact that consumerism has a massive influence on our society. Though it creates classification as well as monopoly, it is true that those who can adapt themselves to this competitive world can develop and progress easily.