In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

These days it is noticeable that a number of people around the globe are moving to urban areas from villages looking for a better life. This leads to reduction of the population in rural areas. This essay believes that massive migration to cities will bring a negative effect. Firstly, there is a shortage of skilled labor in rural areas; Secondly, moving to urban areas leads to overcrowding. In urban areas, young people have many opportunities to obtain higher and professional education, from childhood to adulthood, while in rural areas such opportunities are insufficient. If every graduate student works abroad or in major cities, this leads to a huge problem, primarily with rural demographics and lack of educated personnel. For example, in my hometown it’s even difficult to find a person who knows how to repair a personal computer. It is not a secret that, the process of urbanization has started with our ancestors, now it is happening and it will continue in future. If too many people start moving from rural areas to urban areas, cities will begin to experience overcrowding. It also puts pressure on housing supply, leading to high rents that make urban living unaffordable for many. For example, a big proportion of eastern Europe population lived in overcrowded households in 2021. In conclusion, I believe that many of the problems associated with urbanization can be avoided, but dealing with overpopulation in large cities becomes a challenging task. If government representatives work on this problem and provide answers to such questions, it could affect the future of the country.