Countries with a longer average working day are more likely to be economically successful, but may suffer from negative social consequences as a result. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these views?

Countries with a longer average working day are more likely to be economically successful, but may suffer from negative social consequences as a result. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these views? A country's economic success is certainly affected by a wide range of factors, among which is the length of people's working hours.I totally agree with the statement that countries whose average working hours are longer tend to be prosperous, but they consequently have to deal with many social problems.There is no doubt in my mind that countries in which people work longer hours are more likely to enjoy economic prosperity. Evidence for this can be seen in Japan, where people's working hours range from 65 to 80, depending on gender and occupations. Although this country's economy had been devastated after World War II, it has made a recovery to become unquestionably one of the most powerful economic powerhouses in the world. There is general agreement among historians and economists that this feat was the direct result of the country's strong work ethic. However, economic success achieved in this way presents such countries with a litany of social issues. For example, the birth rate in Japan has stagnated and is now at an all time low due to the stress caused by people's excessively long working hours. This is predicted to grind the economy of the country to a halt, with the population consisting of a large proportion of old and infirm people. Similarly, China, known for its brutal 9-9-6 working culture (that is, starting the working day at 9 AM, leaving work at 9 PM, and repeating this cycle six days a week), has the highest suicide rate in the world. In conclusion, countries with longer working days are more likely to thrive economically; however, such economic prosperity often comes with numerous serious social problems.