Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than work together for everyone’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is inevitably true that parents push their children to outperform other students instead of working with their peers mutually. Personally, I believe the disadvantages eclipse the benefits. One of the advantages is being a highly skilled person while excluding yourself from others to compete with them. What is more, experiencing a rival environment in a school can make us industrious and self-confident in dealing with ongoing problems, and hence, it affects our character and the future. A study conducted, for example, by the University of Southampton found that any competition during the school days is the most favourable time in terms of improving ourselves, and also, they are generally introverted people who do not like to contact someone. On the other hand, there are significant and undeniable advantages that also shape our future. Firstly, seclusion might lead to several health illnesses under these circumstances that can be unwelcome while studying. Furthermore, being deprived of teamwork in the classroom might be a barrier to achieving triumphs for such subjects that require some contact abilities. Secondly, having communication skills and a broad network are the most substantial nuances for students, which spur people to be extroverted. In addition, it is obligatory for us to be sociable to succeed in the world by advocating some research conducted by Chinese Universities in 2015 while taking living among 7 billion people into account. To sum up, despite the concerns about pushing to excel our peers in school, the disadvantages might cause unavoidable issues that are explained above. I am convinced that the demerits outweigh the advantages. Thus, I recommend being much more active in tackling the ongoing processes during the period.