More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Obesity is a major problem in most countries. The overweight issue is increasing among children in major developed countries. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is happening and the results it brings as an outcome. To begin with, there are various reasons behind children getting obese in wealthy society. The most important is less attention from their parents due to their busy work schedules. There are an increasing number of parents busy in their daily work life, paying less attention to their children's healthy diet. As a result, a child is forced to eat snacks and fast food which are easily available across such countries. For instance, it is proven that the majority of restaurants and cafe's customers are young children and youth. As a consequence, this directly affects children's mental health as they will be likely to have low self-esteem and body image issues. Another reason is, very little exercise among young offspring. With the increase in technology, children spend their most of leisure time at home. For instance, most children spend their daily free time playing video games and watching TV Series. Thus, people are less involved in outdoor sports and exercise, causing an overweight situation for them. As a result, children get health-related issues like muscle pain, food poisoning and many more from an early age in their lives. Hence, the children ’s hospitals also get overcrowded. To conclude, there are various reasons for children getting overweight like less parental attention and limited physical exercise. In addition, this issue all together affects children's mental health and the medical system in such countries as a consequence.