Write about the following topic: In the last decade, there has been a great increase in global air travel. What do you think are the reasons for this and do you think it is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

More and more people prefer to travel by plane, thus, resulting in a big increase in air travel globally. This essay will discuss reasons for such behaviour as well as summarize, why, in my opinion, it is a negative development. Some of the most common reasons for increased air travelling are the convenience and low cost that it may provide. Unlike other means of transportation, it is possible to travel long distances in shorter periods of time with more comfortable facilities and customer service. Many airlines have added new travel destinations in the last decade, making it possible for people to reach new locations, that would be, otherwise, out of reach. There are different price categories as well, and individuals can customize their trip and find very low-cost tickets. All of this has increased air travel. Despite the obvious appeal, travelling by plane is extremely non-environmentally friendly since it causes noise pollution, and emits ozone emissions, which together, accelerate global warming. Moreover, airports around the world use dramatic amounts of jet fuel. As a result, passengers' carbon footprint is enormous, and compared to other travelling methods, those are way more sustainable, since people have not yet created aeroplanes that would run on electricity. In addition, although travelling costs on planes are relatively low and budget-friendly, they are still higher than on buses and trains. This can generate inequality between different social groups since air travel still remains more popular among wealthy people. To conclude, there are a few reasons for increased travelling by air, and those are the convenience as well as the low price, which attract more people annually. However, in my opinion, compared to other means of transportation, aviation remains harmful to our environment as well as generates inequality between people with different social statuses and incomes.