Many people in society believe that having fixed punishments for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

There is no doubt that these days, crime rate has increased dramatically in our society for several reasons. Some people argue that it is more efficient to deter people from committing a violent offence by applying punishment in order to achieve justice. In this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of having fixed punishment. In terms of advantages, There are two types of punishments that are used to deter crimes. First, fines are used as a punishment for minor crimes such as committing car accidents. While if the crime is more serious, prison is the most common punishment. It is undeniable that the majority of people need significant roles and regulations to be followed by the authorities. For instance, the fear of the death penalty stops criminals from committing serious offences such as a murder crimes, and kidnapping. Moreover, if the government applied the laws of punishments, it would provide a sense of Justice for victims and their families. In addition, some criminals pose a threat to society. Therefore, it is more efficient to ensure the safety of citizens. In terms of disadvantages, Firstly, innocent people could be wrongly convicted or executed. Capital punishment is not necessarily to reduce crime rates. The authorities have no right to take another human life. Secondly, Prison may allow the criminals to make friendships with other offenders. Moreover, the offender's records make finding a job more difficult. To sum up, fixed punishments have countless benefits to society. Therefore the government must ensure steps are taken in order to achieve Justice and prevent this phenomenon from deteriorating in future.