Chevening is looking for individuals with strong professional relationship-building skills, who will engage with the Chevening Community and influence and lead others in their chosen profession. Please explain how you build and maintain relationships in a professional capacity, using clear examples of how you currently do this, and outline how you hope to use these skills in the future. (500)

I would say a differentiating factor that sets me apart is my proven ability to actively seek, build, and maintain strong professional relationships within not only my local community, but with others across the world. Korea is highly homogenous where over 97% of the population is ethnically Korean. Realizing this, I actively pursued opportunities to enhance my exposure to multicultural environments. I applied for the Global Teacher’s University (GTU) program at my university and was selected as a successful candidate several times. When I was a sophomore, I was selected as a trainee for the University of Hawaii at Manoa. It was here where I began to network with others from different countries. I showed that I could offer value and a fresh perspective. However, more importantly, I showed that I truly cared and can connect on a deeper level. In my view, having compassion, empathy, and making a true effort to understand people’s perspectives and goals is critical to strong professional relationships. Recognized for my global perspective and networking capabilities, my professor gave me funding to conduct research on Southeast Asia. As a team, we conducted research on the Singaporean education system where I took the lead in establishing relationships with educators in Singapore through virtual methods. The professor was impressed by my efforts and extended my funding for further research. In my junior year, I conducted research on the diplomatic relationship between Vietnam and Korea. In my senior year, I was offered a chance to volunteer in Uganda on a research trip. Unfortunately, I had a conflict, but I believe the recognition and continued opportunities showcase my ability to connect with different cultures in physical and virtual environments. Within my workplace, I continue to bring this perspective to educate others. This year, I organised a global club at my school, one with teachers, and the other with students. In the teachers’ global club, I facilitated discussions on global topics. Sometimes, we watch movies or musicals to form a deeper understanding of other countries’ cultures. In the students’ global club, I taught them to understand different cultures and how to show respect. We experienced other countries’ cultural aspects. My school’s principal was highly satisfied and commended me as it brought the community together. Moreover, I continue to empower my community. I presented on the topic of Innovation at school to my teachers because I led a successful strategic initiative (Green Smart School) previously. I also worked with city hall and set up city-sponsored bicycle classes for the local community. Finally, I’m an active participant in the “smart edu-tech” teacher’s community to discuss and think through what education in the future could be like. These are just a small sample of the kinds of initiatives I would hope to leverage my skills for in the future. My goal is to have the opportunity to scale my impact and be a positive global ambassador to inspire children and adults alike when it comes to education and opportunity.