Chevening is looking for individuals who will be future readers or influencers in their home countries. Explain how you meet this requirement, using clear examples of your own leadership and influencing skills to support your answer. (500)

“Outstanding leaders go out of their way to boost the self-esteem of members. If people believe in themselves, it’s amazing what they can accomplish.” This is my notion about leadership and the outstanding leader, that’s me. I have 16 lovely students in my classroom, including two students with learning difficulties and with autism. One of these students had a difficult time adjusting to school life. Last year I heard that she would run away from school, hitting students and teachers when she is angry. As such, her classmates did not like her and she was isolated. In order to ease tension and break barriers, I started a range of activities such as cooking, painting, and engaging games. Moreover, I made sure to recognise her development by praising her as well as guiding her in the right direction. Her behaviour has improved dramatically, now she is much calmer and does not run out of school anymore. I succeeded in helping her love school. I believe that I lead my classroom successfully because we share common values of respect, love, and growth. In 2021, I led a business named Green Smart School at my work. It is a business that aims to change schools into innovative spaces. I organised insight tours to watch role models of innovative spaces. I gathered the opinions of students, teachers, parents, and the local community commissioners on ways they wanted to change the school and over the span of two years I was able to implement all of them. There were times when each other had different opinions. Whenever they do it, we think about the pros and cons of opinions and I lead them to make an optimal choice. In 2022, I discussed with the education office and construction companies whether the decisions on construction were appropriate. Finally, my school started to tear down the building and construct a new innovative school. My passion for influencing people to grow and develop is what drove me to become a teacher. Half of my students do not have parents and live in the orphanage. I try to take care of them with love because I can see their fear of not being loved. Recently, I was invited to the annual festival held by the city’s orphanage, I will never forget what I heard from one student “Thank you for caring for me with love, teacher, I will always be with you when you are sad or happy. I love you so much, too.” I am a person who is qualified to lead with the proven ability to understand other people’s feelings and communicate with empathy in order to drive impact. I learned how to collect the opinions of members and moved toward the goal by leading my critical regional initiatives at school. I’m a suitable person to receive the Chevening scholarship because I can influence positively and make an impact not only for myself but for those around me and to my countless future students.