Some people believe that only employees who have worked at a company for a long time deserve to be promoted to a higher position. What is your opinion about this?

When working at a company the main goal is to not stay at the same position, there is need for growth and also getting a higher salary. It is debatable that to be promoted at a company one needs to be working for them for a long time. I disagree with this, because I feel that you just need the right knowledge. This essay is going to bring out my opinion on the matter. To a greater extent, I strongly disagree with those who believe they need to stay with the organisation for quiet a number of years to get promoted, that is not the case, for an individual to get a raise it means, there is a change on the quality of work that they are doing or someone keeps improving on how they are handling their daily duties and understanding what is needed, for example one needs to know how to achieve goals in a timely manner There is also need to evaluate a person's qualifications, for example some people have honours degree whilst others only have undergraduate degree, this means the one with the high level of education needs to be promoted regardless of the time they worked with the company, for it is believed knowledge is the key However, besides being qualified there is need to evaluate a person as a whole, thus the attitude and behaviour. The two goes hand in hand, and one must show that they have the best interest of the business at heart. Also, they need to show signs that they are fair and selfless On contrast I will also not ignore the fact that being with the company for a long time is a bonus, as one will know every rule and what is expected. There are routine that are usually followed that can easily be ignored by a new person To sum up, I would say, the best person with the right knowledge and ideas, those with growth mindset should be promoted