Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Physical punishment has been popular in many communities for a long time. Some of them believe that many children will follow the rules if they are spanked by their parents. This essay will argue why smacking the younger generation is entirely unacceptable in raising children. Parents are sometimes encouraged to spank children when they do bad things. They assume that is the only way to make them obey the rules. For example, my grandfather smacked my father when he was a teenager because my grandfather desperately wanted to make my father stop smoking. Since that experience, my father stopped smoking and was really afraid to make some mistakes in front of them. This instance makes some parents consider physical punishment as the easiest way to discipline children. Despite the assumption that smacking children can stop them from doing bad things, many researchers found out that, those experiences can make young people traumatized and become more fragile. Due to many parents in the previous era like to use power over their children, many teenagers nowadays have mental health problems. For instance, up until now, my father was really afraid of cigarettes because it would bring bad memories for him. Overall, the idea of smacking children could potentially harm their future. This essay argued that punishing children with physical abuse is a form of way to discipline children. It seems to me that, smacking the young generation is completely bad in parenting. This habit will be really dangerous for our future generations.