Climate change is now an accepted threat to our planet, but there is not enough political action to control excessive consumerism and pollution. Do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant ideas from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, climate change is known as a huge threat to the environment due to industrial activities and the development of the countries. Most of the nations are recording extreme weather conditions such as the wettest year on record, or the hottest year on record. Sea levels are rising more rapidly than before. Therefore, I agree with the statement in the question. Firstly, governments tried to limit industrial emissions of gasses but unfortunately, some nations are unwilling to commit to real change. This is due to economic pressures from within the country and multinational organizations. A luxury lifestyle means a high level of consumerism. This makes a positive impact such as operating and people employed also creates negative like enormous pollution and waste. However, as a solution to these problems, require political actions. At an individual level, education programs in schools and universities to set up to reduce wasteful behaviours and to motivate respect for the planet. At a corporate level, businesses need to develop responsible environmental policies by connecting with governments. Overall,weather conditions may change due to pollution and consumerism. To mitigate this, the world has to collaboratively work. Support from individuals and organizations is needed to achieve this goal. In addition, I would agree with the opinion that politicians need to take action to control the above-mentioned issues. Otherwise, each year delays and ineffective policies will make it harder to restore the health of the planet Earth.