Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Advanced gadgets today have a greater role in how children learn. They imitate and re-enact different behaviours from their favourite shows on television and games on their computers. These gadgets are undoubtedly accessible to kids as they use them not only for entertainment but also for academic purposes. Hence, the views of people are divided on the impact of television (TV), video and computer games on young people. This essay will discuss both perspectives along with the opinion of the writer. Firstly, TV shows and video and computer games can be an opportunity for children to enhance their learning and expand their social skills. There are variety of children' shows on television which tackle science, literacy, mathematics and music. A specific example is the timeslot of teacher Rachel on Nickelodeon, wherein it teaches children to familiarise shapes, colours, and alphabet songs. The young generation nowadays also uitilised computer games to bond with their peers. They have their own virtual world in which they can interact and do things together. On the other hand, there are many inappropriate TV shows and predators online. For example, despite the category of movies according to age on Disney, mature movies are still present and accessible to kids. Moreover, strangers and stalkers online can easily pretend and mask their true identity in order to earn the trust of young people. This is a serious issue and parents should be vigilant not to allow their children to be victims of these predators. Excessive screen time can also be detrimental to children's health as it can affect their eyesight and mental health. In conclusion, time spent on television and computer games can be beneficial as long as they are used only for academics and building healthy social relationships with their peers. However, these gadgets are unhealthy and detrimental for young people if these gadgets are utilised excessively and without their parents' supervision. In my opinion, television and computers can be significant for learning as long as they are used responsibly and through parents' guidance.