Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

In modern times, despite the majority of the population being well aware of the health benefits and disadvantages that certain activities bring, they lead unhealthy lifestyles. This essay aims to discuss the main causes of this phenomenon and suggest several solutions. It is understandable why citizens’ lifestyles are usually unhealthy-oriented as activities that are detrimental to one’s health can be immensely addictive. This is evidenced by the ever-increasing death rate caused by consuming excessive doses of nicotine, a fatal substance that is highly addictive and is prevalent in numerous products in our daily lives such as cigarettes and vape pods. Despite being well-acknowledged about the dangers of smoking, a large sum of people, especially white-collar workers, consume this item daily simply because they are addicted. Another primary reason for citizens’ unhealthy lifestyles is hygienic activities are not properly taught and advertised. For example, the bulk of traditional schools worldwide rarely implement physical education into their curriculums, thus making the students underestimate its benefits. Additionally, governments around the globe seldom establish advertising campaigns regarding health, which directly contributes to the act that eliminates healthy activities from citizens’ daily priorities. Despite the severity of this issue, it is entirely soluble. First and foremost, the financial involvement of the government is essential since establishing subtle monetary policies can greatly alter the general behavior of citizens. For example, raising the taxes on tobacco can not only tremendously hinder the production level of this product but also raise its prices, which could result in a drastic decline in nicotine consumption. Secondly, corporations and academic institutions should implement physical activities into their curriculums and organize more sports competitions to increase the engagement of students and workers in physical activities. This practice undoubtedly incentivizes them to exercise more often, thereby laying a foundation for a healthy workforce and a thriving education system. In conclusion, although the lack of participation in healthy activities of the population is on the rise, it is entirely soluble with the correct measures.