The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people argue that the development of technology has a crucial impact on crime rate reduction. To respond to that I strongly believe that technology surely brings a positive impact on crime-solving process. However, I somewhat disagree with the statement since the digital crime rate is increasing significantly now. Firstly, the proliferation of digital crime has become the real evidence of the utilization of advanced technology for negative purposes. For instance, the government in Indonesia still have to work on the leak of public data, which has developed into a national priority under the supervision of the Ministry of Telecommunication. Moreover, the national budget allocation in digital security has risen due to this case. Additionally, some people also become a victim of online fraud. This happened due to the shifting of shopping behaviour of people, from offline to online marketplace. On the other hand, advanced technology become an effective tool for stakeholders to combat digital crime cases. For example, the police can find the address of perpetrators of fraud through their unique number of Internet Protocol (IP). Moreover, advanced technology can also support the crime investigation process, such as finding the real murderer by identifying their fingerprints. In conclusion, the development of technology has two sides of impact for the crime rates. First, it helps the stakeholders to solve the crime case effectively. On the other hand, some greedy people still try to use the advances of technology for their own benefit and harm others.