Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is thought that passing examinations and achieving success in academics should be utmost concentrated by schools so practical subjects such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork skills should be trained in a family environment. From my perspective, I agree with that statement. First and foremost, learning practical skills at home from family members and friends can offer more time for students to practice. That is simply because the time for a lesson at school is controlled and limited so they may have no much time for studying those skills. Additionally, due to having plenty of time, learners can spend hours on analyzing and figuring out the possible solutions to deal with unexpected problems during the learning process. To illustrate, wood working skills demand lots of time for practicing and interpreting how to utilite utilise kinds of tools, that is why putting their time into it can bring them about a clarified knowledge. Second of all, another advantage of this method is the sense of comfort. Through such a familiar ambiance, students’ passion can be promoted then they may have an easier opportunity to gain knowledge and understandings. Furthermore, learning practical skills from their home can relieve the stress level since they do not have to compete to get high grades and pass the exams. For instance, when sewing is taught as a compulsory subject at school, pupils can just try to pass this subject rather than taking their interest in it. In conclusion, I strongly believe that family and friends are a better environment than schools for students to study practical skills. That provides more time and comfort so they can easily obtain acquaintance and passion for certain aspects.