Sociologists predict that a big proportion of the younger generation will decide to live alone in the future. While working issues and developing on a personal level might be the sound causes of this phenomenon, however, it can cause some negative effects for the society.

Many job offers and universities are far from home and students as well as employees must change their living spot for study or work reasons. People enjoy to have a good education or job and want to invest time in these, forcing them to stay near universities or companies, which lead them to often choose a one-bedroom apartment far away from home, thus becoming distant and detached. Furthermore, living alone is very convenient for an individual because of the independence and freedom one gains from it, thus enabling them to spend more time for introspection and allowing them to unfold their personal potential. By contrast, a recent behavioural study revealed that beside the younger generation, also a majority of elderly people are living on their own. The study concluded further that this might be a worrying trend, due to the lack interaction and communication with others the rates of depression and anxiety are increasing in people living alone. These factors are a big burden for the healthcare system, hence it is important to look for answers. If more people were made aware of these negative effects and the government implemented strategies to counterattack this issue, more people would decide to stay at home with their parents or grandparents. To sum up, also if there are some personal merits of living alone, I strongly concur that the downsides of loneliness and detachment from family outweigh the positive effects and that the inclusion of different generations in a household might increase the respect for each other and develop our society into a better one.