In some ocuntries, small town-center shop are out of business because people are driving to large out-of-town stores. As a result people without cars have limited access to shops, and so more and more people buy cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages?

With the rapid urbanization process in the recent decades, the increasing establishment of shops in town centers has outnumbered shops located out-of town, resulting in a growing numbers of vehicles commuting between these locations. Personally, I contend that the resulting drawbacks outweigh the benefits. It is true that the increased establishment of new stores in the city center can facilitate prosperity. For people who work in town center that frequently commute between suburb and downtown, it is undoubtedly convenient, as they can easily purchase groceries on their way home. Furthermore, the growing number of shops in town could also benefit tourism industry. Tourists often seek accomodations close to attractions, allowing shops nearby to gain profits, which serve as an additional reason why businesses prefer to situated themselves in town-center rather than suburbs. However, I am convinced that the drawbacks following this phenonmenon surpass benefits. The decreased number of out-of- town stores means an increased frequency of local citizen commuting between these areas, which may potentially impose a financial burden on individuals as some residents do not own cars. Moreover, with the growing number of vehicle ownerships within citizens, the commute between town center will remarkably rise, which might result in traffic congestion without proper infrastructure. A following issue is that the growing number of cars will increase exhaust emission, which is unquestionably detrimental to the already endangered environment. Therefore, I believe that the existance of local shops remain essential to prevent the extended problems that might arise without them. In conclusion, it is significant that the demerits of not having local shops outweigh the merits. Local shops continue to be fundemental for individuals living in suburbs, and their presence could potentially benefit the environment in long-term.