In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries. To what extent do the benefits of this development outweigh the problem.

Driven by globalization and modern logistics, it makes it possible for us to obtain many items produced abroad. Although the trend may exert some negative impact, the advantages as a whole outweigh the disadvantages. It is true that overseas commodities can take a toll on not only the environment but the local economy. For one thing, purchasing products made in foreign countries means the increasing amount of carbon footprint brought by long-distance transportation from one place to another. Especially, most transport vehicles are fueled by fossil energy, thereby polluting both the air and the ocean. For another, local producers face fierce competition against foreign counterparts, because consumers are inclined to purchase goods with lower prices and better quality. As a result, it may devastate the manufacturing sector in a country, thus forcing many locals to lose their jobs. However, those issues can be addressed in a proper manner by taking active measures. Firstly, clean energy has been widely applied nowadays, which will make goods transportation more environmentally friendly in the future. Furthermore, the government can introduce citizens to engage in some businesses that are more competitive, such as high technology, tertiary industry and so on. On the contrary, there are more benefits for consumers who are able to shop for products worldwide. To begin with, they may spend less money on basic necessities thanks to the lower cost of manufacturing in developing countries, which in turn makes them able to save more money on education, healthcare and other essential spending. Moreover, citizens can source more choices with the prevalent trend of shopping globally. For example, children are able to eat many fresh fruits overseas, which is definitely beneficial to our health, and we can also gain pleasure from multiple choices. In conclusion, while it may pose a threat to both individuals and the environment for too many aboard products become available in our markets, we can benefit more from the trend.