Some people think the manufacturers or shopping malls should sell less packaged products and others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to protecting the environment, packaging is a controversial topic that often divides opinion. While some argue that it is the responsibility of suppliers to produce simply packaged items, others claim that the accountability lies in consumers. The essay below will take a look at both sides of the argument. Firstly, companies are the ones to be blamed for overusing packaging materials. In particular, they are overusing complicated packaging to meet the needs of the society. This is due to the fact that most individuals choose to buy an item because of its attractive appearance rather than its actual usage. This leads to the fact that more plastic and paper are being used, subsequently creating more trash. In my view, it is understandable that factories are trying to use more decorative materials to make their objects outstanding. In my point of view, producers are not completely the ones to be blamed for. Secondly, it is buyers' favour to buy unnecessary decorative things that contribute to such a problem. In fact, a lot of individuals do not have enough awareness about protecting the habitat. Thus, they choose fully and complex packaged items, creating more demands that encourage companies to use more plastic waste. In other words, they contribute to leaving a carbon footprint, which is one of the main reasons for the pollution of the earth. Yet, this is not wholly their fault as people tend to prefer what is aesthetic. To minimize this trend, buyers need to gradually shift their shopping behaviour to non-biodegradable products. Consumers have the power to bring about change but must act together in order for it to happen. In summary, both providers and consumers should take accountability for creating the trend of using excessive packaging. While manufacturers solely aim at pleasing their customers, buyers should also make informed choices about what they are actually buying.