Some people think that students should learn a range of practical skills at school (such as car maintenance or managing money) alongside traditional subjects like maths and physics. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

In this contemporary world, technological apportunities and self-employment become at the top level among others. There is an argument that essential practical skills like cleaning and repairing motor vehicles, cooking and barking should be learnt by students at the school. I totally agree with this statement and this essay will explain it further. To begin with, the school curriculum puts great pressure on teenagers because it has tremendous continuous assessment and end-semester examinations. Students are practised to learn from teacher-centred education, so developing additional skills may be a burdening factor for them. Moreover, when they graduate from the school, more employers could judge them only by looking at the results of the main examinations, such as ordinary level examinations or advanced level examination results. Consequently, according to this, there is a barrier to declaring new skills in the school system, because it will overwhelm the students. Despite having a few negative aspects of vocational technological subjects, gathering technical experience can be highly beneficial to the young generation. In addition, although higher education has great demand, all are unable to enter the universities. If they develop another specific skills when students are in school, vocational institutes will accept them. For instance, a child has developed cooking techniques well, after she finishes school period, a well-known vocational campus offers her a valuable chef course free of charge. Therefore, training non-curriculum subjects secure the new generation after they pass out to society and they have already adopted the essential requirement. Another remarkable factor is that well-trained student will succeed in their professional achievement as they have previous experience. For example, some students have been migrating to another country. So, they may be isolated from their parents. If migrants adopt car repairing, cooking and banking, those skills will be predominant positive factors for their living. Finally, I think students should expert in vocational technology subjects which will be not a detrimental factor in the future In conclusion, getting additional experience may make the future pathways. Government and parents should be aware of introducing day-to-day skills to the pupils. Not only common subjects but also life skills are important.