Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid jobs and the highest paid jobs should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that these days some people think that the gap between low-paid and high-paid jobs should be decreased. The question is, what will be the consequences if that happens? In this essay, I am going to discuss the results of this action and also give my own opinion on this topic. In terms of positive side, reducing the gap between the low-paid and high-paid jobs can have many benefits. For example, it can lead to a more equitable society (or in other words more income equality for the whole society). This can reduce poverty and crime rates, making the country a much safer place to live in. To illustrate, low-paid workers in Egypt used to suffer from poverty, diseases, and high crime rates. However, during the past few years, the minimum wage for all the low-paid jobs was increased by the government, which led to a much better living standards for all workers. However, narrowing this gap could have some potential disadvantages. One of the downsides is that some people would consider the equal par for different jobs unfair. For instance, surgeons' work is always more stressful than any other occupation, such as technicians or cashiers. Moreover, a surgeon spends more time at work, which affects his/her social life. That is why surgeons or doctors should be paid, in general, more money to compensate time and stress. In conclusion, although lessening this gap has cons, it could also benefit the community in general and promote social harmony. Therefore, I believe that all governments should focus on applying regulations to make this change.