Million of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

For the last decade, space investment has received a crescedo of both criticism and support. the writer contends that money should be allocated to human daily issues due to famine in some areas and the need to generate a well-educated generation, despite some believes that dollars should be spent on space for further academic research. granted, one might argue that human ought to chanel money into universal research. This is predicated on the assumption that by fully acknowledging about space, human can one day evacuate to another planet to live, which effectively solves the problem of overpopulation occurring on Earth. However, this line of reasoning is not sound as we, until now, do not understand a half of our planet let alone explore new ones. Such an approach seems to be for scientists' satisfaction only, but not for people's demand. There are more compelling reasons to extol the idea of improving living standard by using money from space research. Chief of these is to erase famine and malnutrition on Earth. With this investment, life will be enhanced in those areas. Take South Africa as an example, where, 10.000 reliefs were supplied to unfortunate people by Russia, now solves the problems of harvest loss during drought period. Moreover, only when we invest money in education such as the provision of materials can young generations broaden their horizon and develop themselves holistically. in conclusion, for the reasons outlined above, it stands to reason that money should be allocated to enhancing living standard rather than space exploration.