Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing

In this era, despite purchasing non-essential items and renewing old ones with new ones is also unneeded, many people still intend to carry out this behaviour. The major reason behind this is the influence of media. However, in my opinion, this trend is a negative thing as it has adverse impacts. Advertising greatly influences consumerism patterns in society. Recently, manufacturing companies have promoted their products in several ways, such as through social media, billboards, radio broadcasts, and door-to-door visits. In these all promotional activities, they are presented in such a way that attracts the viewers' attention to buy, and there is a desire to get it. As a result, consumers are lured into getting more of the products even though they do not need these things. To exemplify, some individuals often seem to have more than one smartphone after seeing a television commercial for one of their favourite gadget companies release a new product. Nevertheless, this habit has a negative impact on the environment, especially the build-up of waste. Citizens are consuming more products such as clothes or home appliances, which produces more packaging rubbish every day. Besides, they do not separate reusable garbage like boxes or glass jars from the rest since they are too busy. As a result, the waste is just thrown away and can impact flooding. To summarize, the mass media campaign has a major cause of increasing the consumerist lifestyle, which is a completely harmful propensity as it creates extra litter in the surroundings. However, this habit can be reduced by personal awareness.