Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

This essay will explain my opinion that huge amounts of money should be poured into bettering life standards instead of space exploration as current. Space is believed to be infinite and the knowledge that human has gained about it is too little so far. That’s why several non-governmental organizations are established to satisfy man’s curiosity about space. This has leaded to numerous small-to-large-scale projects relating to the universe, along with them are substantial flows of money needed to carry out from start to finish. These large expenses, however, could be spent on improving life standards instead as many think that man should focus on lives on Earth before the outer space. In terms of space exploration, the writer believes that the advantage of this could outweigh the disadvantage. To begin with, any weather-relating spheres, such as agriculture and tourism, heavily depend on the national weather forecast. By discovering new atmospheric areas for satellites to come, any unexpected climate patterns could be informed in real-time, farmers thereby won’t have their crops damaged by climate disasters like tornado or hurricane, and travel guides will know which day is least likely to rain to lead their tourists go outdoors. Another merit is that fostering space discoveries can partially locate a new planet which is live-able to human and able to maintain industrial activities as current on Earth. Nevertheless, this plus is not practical as individuals are all contributing to lower their own carbon footprint and it is a long time from now before scientists could find out when is doomsday. In conclusion, although many insist on enhancing living standards are right to some extent, I would lean myself on the idea that money should be spent on exploring the universe as the above-mentioned reasons.