People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons for this and how can people learn more about the natural world?

In modern times, the majority of the population is not well-acknowledged about the significance of the natural world. This essay aims to discuss the causes of this issue and suggest several solutions. First and foremost, the rapid development of technology and urbanization has greatly separated humanity from nature. Concerning the former, the introduction of numerous digital devices that can provide detailed videos and images of the wilderness at the click of a button has virtually eliminated people’s desire to experience the outside natural world. Similarly, governments worldwide are continuously expanding urban areas through constant deforestation, which directly destroys natural regions that are more accessible to citizens to sight-see and study about. Second of all, traditional academic institutions seldom include knowledge regarding nature in their curriculums, hence students are typically poorly informed of the world of nature and its significant impacts on mankind. Despite the ever-escalating severity of this issue, it is arguably soluble with suitable measures. Firstly, by establishing public awareness campaigns, the government could partially raise the population’s understanding of nature, thereby triggering citizens’ interest in self-learning about the natural world. Secondly, nature should be educated in schools to firmly ingrain its significance in students. These acts can potentially lay the foundation for an eco-friendly nation, thus contributing to the betterment of the environment worldwide. For instance, Finland, where pupils study nature as a separate subject, is one of the least polluted countries on the planet. To summarize, although modern-day humanity’s understanding of nature ’s importance is gradually diminishing, applying the aforementioned methods could considerably untangle this problem.