Art and music classes should not be mandatory at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that art and music lessons should not be compulsory at educational institutions. However, I partly agree that these courses encourage student’s creativity and provide chances to lighten stress as well as that students should have the freedom to choose their educational path. Mandatory classes may hinder this freedom. On the one hand, art and music education should not be forced upon every student. Not all students are passionate about art and music. Forcing them to take these classes may lead to a lack of interest and motivation. Learners who are not interested in these subjects may not perform well in them, which could negatively impact their overall school results. On the other hand, art and music classes provide students with a platform to express their creativity. These subjects encourage imagination, allowing students to explore different forms of artistic expression. Attending art and music lessons significantly improves their education performance and helps them achieve their purposes more efficiently at school. Studies have shown that exposure to art and music improves cognitive skills such as problem-solving, critical thinking, and spatial reasoning, which benefit their creative processes. Otherwise, there are great opportunities for learners to promote their emotional well-being as well as to relieve stress. Engaging in creative activities can positively impact mental health. Art and music allow students to express emotions, reduce stress, and enhance overall well-being. For instance, scholars participating in art and music courses are more successful and productive in terms of their educational scores and happiness than those who did not enroll in these lessons. To sum up, art and music education foster creativity and help students be less stressed. Schools also should recognize their importance and consider a flexible approach that allows students to choose while maintaining a holistic curriculum to ensure a well-rounded education for all. For these reasons, it is clear that a student’s academic achievement and interpersonal development are affected more by attending these classes.