Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small businesses are unable to compete. Some people believe that the closure of small businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In some countries, developed countries to be specific, supermarkets are developing and rapidly expanding leaving small businesses with less potential to compete. A number of people have an assumption that local communities will not exit if small businesses are not actively operating. I disagree with the idea that this is the end of them. It is without doubt that large businesses such as supermarkets are expanding fast in several nations, and there are few benefits as to why they should substitute small businesses. One of the main reasons is that supermarkets can create employment opportunities for individuals that live in these communities as a result the local communities will continue to grow. For example, Supermarkets employ more people work in different departments in their stores such as cashiers, cooks, and drivers, just to mention a few. Moreover, supermarkets offer convenience and variety to consumers since they get products from different manufacturers and will be able to compare the prices before buying unlike buying from a small business. Although bigger companies are more powerful in many ways, local businesses can still find a way to survive and the future of the local communities cannot be determined by them. To begin with, there are some advantages for local business that cannot be replaced, for instance, the relationship the owner of a small business has and the customers, their interaction develops into a friendship that can't be replaced which will make the customers always come back to support the business due to the relationship they share. Moreover, the culture of local communities is not just about commercial activities, is about the value of supporting each other when in need. Otherwise, it would just be another market. In conclusion, supermarkets contribute to the decline of small businesses but the effect of supermarkets on local communities can be mitigated and the spirit of local communities can still thrive.