Some people believe that there should b fixed punishments for each type of crome. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the opinion that there shouldn't be variations in the punishments alloted allotted to different kinds of wrongdoings because it could help reduce crime rates. However,some believe that the drive towards a crime and its circumstances should be considered when making decisions on the punishment because some crimes are not commited intentionally.In my own view,I am of the opinion that different punishments should be awarded to different crimes. To begin with, Although,a Fixed punishment for all kinds of crimes would lead to a reduction in bad acts as individuals get to realise that their wrong acts would not be weighed according to the level of its damage. For instance,A teenager would not steal goods from a store knowing that he would be given the same punishment as a murderer when caught. However, There are some people who are victims of circumstances such as getting arrested for being in a crime scene.So,it would be unfair to put such an individual in a Jail for a year which would equate the punishment which can be given to people engaging in drug trafficking. For example,there are lots of cases where young orphans drink alcohol a result of financial struggles end up damaging a community's property,it wouldn't be so nice to punish such an individual the same way a person who is into child trafficking would be dealt with. Additionally, I am of the opinion that various crimes should have different punishments to prevent an increase in the number of People who would be jailed yearly,making people spend substantial years of their lives in Prisons. In Conclusion,An equal punishment to all types of crime would reduce bad acts drastically.But,it would be unfair in some situations and lead to an higher proportion of arrests in a year.