some people argue that the best way to reduce pollution and traffic jams from city centres is to make public transport free. do you agree or disagree?

In order to combat pollution and traffic jams, making public transport free to use is the solution. Not only it would cut down the possession of private vehicles by a substantial amount but also less energy would be wasted. This essay agrees with the statement and will thoroughly explain further. To begin with, when citizens have opportunities to use public transportation without any charge, it would help to cut down on private cars. As a result, traffic jams will less likely to happen as many space that private cars previously took will have been declined tremendously. Additionally, the downward trends of using private vehicles mean that the sources of carbon footprint would also decrease dramatically. For example, in the covid-19, when people are not allowed to go outside, many reports said that the quality of the environment has improved a lot compared to the previous. Furthermore, when focusing on using city transport, the need for gas will also be expected to go down, thus the exploitation in nature might also be eased down accordingly. For instance, many countries have been exceeding further when they implement the electric solution for public buses, and trains,... which are believed to be the better source of energy so far. In conclusion, the world needs to adapt to the trends of making city transportation free of charge. Not only it would discourage the need for purchasing new vehicles, but also help to prevent further exploitation of natural gasses