In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, as a consequence, technology has served to enhance the population's long-life efficiency. A highly controversial concern revolves around whether an ageing population has become a government issue or a larger elderly population could be advantageous for society. Personally, I feel that the drawbacks of the elderly society outweigh the benefits as this essay will discuss its pros and cons in the forthcoming paragraphs. The main advantage of elderly society is that they have wisdom and experience which brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to society. Moreover, a golden opportunity to start businesses or engage in entrepreneurship for the target who has the potential to use money. For instance, the home construction industry has adapted its objective to ageing-friendly constructions. Furthermore, many elderly people have more time to engage in volunteer activities, which can benefit local communities and organisations. However, elderly society is a huge problem for the government and has many disadvantages. The main drawback is that healthcare services are important for older people, leading to higher healthcare costs for governments and individuals. In addition, there will be an increasingly smaller number of people who are capable of working which can impact welfare systems. Lastly, the government has to allocate significant funds to guarantee that retired people can get financial assistance and the public budget. To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages involved in elderly society and government challenges are connected to a wealth of knowledge, a good time for businesses, volunteerism, a high cost of healthcare services, a decreasing workforce and government allocation. Whether the advantages outweigh the disadvantages depends on various factors, including government policies and societal adaptations.