Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

Advertising is an essential component of modern-day commerce. There have been competing views on whether advertising is highly effective at influencing our purchasing decisions or it has become common and people easily ignore it. In my opinion, advertising is still extremely powerful and has a power to creates desire for products it is selling. Those who support the notion that advertising is not important anymore, believe that with the rise of digital media and ad-blocking software, consumers have greater control over the commercial they see or do not see. Also, everyday various channels such as television, social media, billboards and emails bombarding us with different kind of advertisements. This huge volume of advertisements desensitized people to the content of publicity. However, I do not think that facing with two much advertisements, could have a highly dissuasive impact on people and huge loss for businesses. Those on the other side of the argument say that these days advertisers utilize various persuasive techniques to influence consumer behavior. Also, companies invest significant resources in market research to understand their target audience and produce messages in line with their desire. For example, they use influencer marketing on platforms like Instagram which has a great influence on a wide range of people. Additionally, advertising try to revoke a sense of need or urgency in consumers by using celebrity endorsement and emotional appeals. The effectiveness of these strategies is reflected in the profits generated by companies and huge investment on different advertisements. In conclusion, while it is true that people have become adept at avoiding commercials, advertising remains a powerful force that can significantly influence consumers behavior, thanks to innovative advertising techniques, social media platforms and find the target audience.