Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that snacks and soft drinks produced contain a huge amount of sugar, making individuals suffer some health issues. While I believe that increasing the price of these products will partly stop people from consuming more sugar, I would argue that there are other feasible solutions to help people intake less sugar. On the one hand, it is valid that making sugary products more expensive will discourage people from purchasing because of two reasons. Firstly, as the intake of a significant amount of sugar into the human body will cause human heart to beat faster than normal, this is likely to have severe impacts on people's health. As a consequence, imposing a high tax on sugary products can make those products less appealing to consumers. Secondly, because snacks or soft drinks such as caramelised popcorn or Coke are relatively affordable, consumers tend to purchase these as a way to serve their recreational purposes. Therefore, national leaders should increase higher taxes on those products. On the other hand, a range of viable approaches can be taken to minimise the high intake of sugar. The first and immediate action is that since youngsters are the main customers of sugary products, educators such as teachers should raise students' awareness of how disadvantageous these are, and also promote the importance of outdoor activities. In this way, the youth are likely to digest less sugar products in general. The second remedy is that since scientists have invented sugar alternatives such as sweeteners, increasing the price of sugary products seems not effective anymore. For example, Coca-Cola company has introduced Coke Zero or Diet Coke which contains less or zero levels of sugar. In conclusion, It is true that the increase in the price of products containing high levels of sugar will lead to less consumption. However, there are the aforementioned solutions that can tackle the issue.