Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the internet has widely replaced their function. To what extant do you agree or disagree with this idea.

Reading and study have now proven to be one of the biggest parts of our lives. Nowadays, some people believe that it is not necessary to maintain public libraries. To be honest, I disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I intend to provide more details from my perspective. To begin with, one of the most significant functions of libraries is to borrow books and read articles. With the development of science and technology, the majority of people are willing to read online. To elaborate, reading and searching for information on the internet are very convenient. For instance, when people would like to read a treatise, they just need to search for it through various free libraries online. By contrast, they do not need to waste time to go to public libraries. In addition, online libraries have more kinds of books. In other words, public libraries ’ areas are limited, which can not contain all the books that readers want to borrow. Whereas, the online libraries have rich resources, which are likely to fulfill the most readers’ request. Therefore, readers use libraries online more and more frequently. Nevertheless, public libraries are not just to use for reading books. Besides, they provide a splendid learning environment. To explain, at public libraries, people are very quiet and willing to put down their phones. Thus, it is conductive to focus and improve their learning efficiency. I mean to say, this function can not be replaced by online libraries. In conclusion, although online libraries can save time and have more resources, I still consider that maintaining public libraries is essential.