Many cities replace farmlands and parks with houses. Is it a positive or negative development?

It has been observed that owing to the proliferating population in the urban field, accommodation issues are arising. To overcome this, authorities convert the farms and open spaces into housing. In my opinion, it has negative consequences on the environment and mankind which will be discussed below. It is true that increasing numbers of individuals are migrating to city areas for better opportunities thus, the demand for living areas rising significantly. To minimise the gravity of this situation, the housing board established new societies by destroying farmlands and open gardens. This will have detrimental effects on the environment. To elaborate on this, cutting down a number of trees and green lands is responsible for increasing the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. This will cause global warming. For instance, in the developing nation, of India, the expansion of metro city Ahmedabad by urbanization led to rising contamination in the environment, as per the report due to deforestation around the area of South Bopal, this province is listed among the most polluted area of the world. Moreover, it may contribute to the extinction of many animal and plant species. This means, human activities destroying the habitat of flora and fauna. Additionally, it has also impacted upon agriculture sector. It is true that building houses by removing the farmlands may decrease farming activities, which affects the production of vegetables. Thus, scarcity of food can arise in future. For instance, as per the global news report, it is predicted that continuous urbanization or replacing fertile soil with residential houses dramatically decline the area of soil in upcoming years which is responsible for food production. In conclusion, governing bodies replacing open parks and farms with accommodations will bring repercussions such as pollution of the surroundings as well as a reduction in the amount of edible production that can not be overlooked.