The availability of entertainment such as playing electronic games on portable devices will be harmful to individuals in the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the advent of technology has brought many benefits to our lives. It is undeniable that entertaining activities from technological devices are truly convenient. Yet, many people claim that such entertainment does more harm than good. From my perspective, I completely agree with this belief. This essay will provide reasons and examples for my support. Firstly, it is worth considering that some mobile games encourage antisocial behaviour. To be more specific, it is easy to spot a game that contains inappropriate language and violent scenes. For instance, the well-known Fortnite game requires players to use guns or knives to hurt others in order to gain victory. Consequently, game users find these actions normal and gradually perform similar behaviour in real life. Especially for young people, juvenile delinquency is inevitable. This is a clear example that the negative effects of technological entertainment are tremendous. Secondly, overusing portable equipment can make people less sociable and isolated. Moreover, it might lead to a decrease in people's interpersonal skills. For example, rather than going outside, most people decide to stay at home and chat online. In other words, they prefer internet-based interaction to face-to-face conversations. As a result, people are no longer empowered with communicative and social skills. Additionally, the mental health of the public might be significantly affected due to networked entertainment. It means that when people choose to indoors more often, they eventually become more reserved. As a consequence, they might suffer from social anxiety or depression. To summarise, while some people favour online entertainment, some argue that it brings certain disadvantages to our daily lives. I completely agree with this belief. Social misconduct and isolation are some negative effects of over-relying on technological advancement.