20.Some people think that, to learn about other countries, traveling abroad is necessary while others think that is not necessary because TV and the internet can give the same information. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is commonly believed that the best way to learn about foreign countries is to travel abroad, others deem it unnecessary as the TV and internet can provide the same information. In my opinion, it is better to travel as there's only so much reading information online can do, so it's better to actually experience the country for yourself. On the one hand, it is argued that travelling abroad is compulsory to fully understand the culture of another country. This is because travelling in person gives an individual an insightful look into what it's like to live in that country, experiencing mundane details that may not be fully explained by looking at the info through a screen. It is also possible to say that physically being at the location makes the information stick longer in long-term memory, definitely more than simply reading a bunch of texts or viewing the sceneries through a TV. For example, research done by UCLA has illustrated how people learn and retain information 3 times better if they also get to personally experience what the info is talking about. On the other hand, others strongly believe that the information given to us through communication media such as television or the internet is sufficient to understand a country. People often have this opinion because of the vast amount of info that TV, and more prominently the internet, can deliver to us. With just a click of a mouse, gaining instant access to info about the economic situation, political system, cultural practices and more is common nowadays. The convenience of the entire process ensures that without ever leaving our homes, we can still be connected to the outside world and understand what's going on internationally. As an example, it is estimated by New York University that with the advent of the internet, on average it would only take a maximum of 30 seconds to find a specific piece of info that is needed. That just goes to show the impact the internet has and how it allows you to learn about a different country without ever leaving your house. In conclusion, although travelling abroad is one of the most effective ways to learn about a country, it's not the only way as the internet has allowed for easy access to information anytime, anywhere. Personally, I tend to believe that even though the internet can help us learn about a country, nothing can beat actually going there and seeing it for yourself as it gives you a complete picture of the country.