Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Under this digital age, the speed of information sharing is going viral as compared to the post industrialization period. For instance, just one click on the computer can already transfer data across continents in a second. As a result, the convenience of content delivery has provoked an important discussion - whether all types of information are suitable to be selfishnessly shared scientifically, academically and economically. Because of the easy accessibility of information, some protagonists argue that certain regime of knowledges shall not be disclosed publicly. For example, the secret recipes of the businesses shall be kept confidential in order to secure their continuity and the position in the market; Furthermore, some sensitive personal information such as customer identity numbers shall be protected too to prevent any illegal use of those data to commit crimes. Despite the detrimental impacts mentioned above, in a broader perspective, fostering information exchanges can indeed save lives. One prime example is during COVID-19, the education and promotion on maintaining personal hygiene and notification of nearby potential patients hindered the spread of the disease within the crowd. Due to the broadcasts, the city dwellers can collaborate immediately with a comparable common ground and understanding. In conclusion, to a large extent I support the flexible data transmission so as to encourage continuous development of the whole civilization. Meanwhile, the drawbacks it brings alongside can always be mitigated through collective efforts and knowledge sharings. In the hope of a better future, all humankinds shall contribute together to improve the quality of life and the society without hesitation.